Steampunk, Paranormal Beauty and the Beast

I do love my work, and how I get to read books before they’re released. ūüėČ This one will be on store shelves on Aug. 2.

I started reading this thinking, “If ever there was a ‘proper romance’ I would enjoy, it should be this one.” ¬†I can’t stand proper romances. ¬†First of all, I prefer my romances to be sub-plots, not main plots. ¬†Then, as much as I love London and its history, I really don’t care for the flowery formal language, pompous ridiculous characters, or dramas between high and low societies. ¬†But I picked up “Beauty and the Clockwork Beast,” by Nancy Campbell Allen, thinking, “It’s Beauty and the Beast (one of my favorite fairy tales) and it’s Steampunk (for which I can’t explain my strange fascination).” ¬†Here are my thoughts AFTER reading it:

*** 3 Stars ***

It’s advertised on the front cover as a “Steampunk Proper Romance.” ¬†I’d add “Paranormal” in there too, since ghosts, werewolves, and ¬†vampires are as big an influence to the characters and plot as the gear-dependent inventions they use for labor and travel.

Unfortunately, the main characters do resemble traits from those of “Twilight.” ¬†For some reason, the girl’s not terrified when she finds out a man’s a werewolf, and feels the stupid need to do things on her own. ¬†The werewolf also has some stupid “Edward” moments when he thinks to push people away because he’s ‘dangerous’ (and is supposedly¬†forbidden to be loved), but then he’s also over protective at times.

Mrs. Allen’s book shows the perspective of both the woman and man in interest. ¬†Personally, I don’t like it when stories do this¬†because it¬†turns all miscommunication into dramatic irony, which frustrates me to no end.

My rating: ¬†low end of ***3 stars***. ¬†Even though it’s not my cup of tea, I drank it all. Here’s another one for the hoards¬†of “Twilight” fans out there.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

